School of Law

Undergraduate menu

George Hinde Moot Final

George Hinde Moot Final 2017 Participants

The George Hinde Moot final is one of the highlights of our School of Law calendar, named in memory of a much-loved Professor at the School of Law. The competition has been established for more than 40 years and provides undergraduate students with ‘real-world experience’ as well as an invaluable insight into advocacy and the Bar.

The George Hinde Moot Final 2018

This year’s final will be held at the Octagon on Wednesday 21 March at 18:00. Doors will open from 17:30. Following the moot, we will hold speeches and a food and drinks reception to celebrate the accomplishments of the finalists. Registration for tickets to the final will open on Friday 2 March 2018.

Headshot of Lord ManceAbout the Judge

We are thrilled to announce that Deputy President of The Supreme Court, The Right Hon the Lord Mance will judge this year’s Moot final.

Jonathan Hugh Mance, Lord Mance became Deputy President of The Supreme Court in September 2017. This following his original appointment as a Justice of The Supreme Court in October 2009. Read his biography on the UK Supreme Court website.

About the Moot Master and Moot Mistress

Law students Aymen Ati, a third year Law and Politics student and Marie-Ange Symmonds, a second year Senior Status Law student are this year’s Moot Master and Moot Mistress. Both were involved in last year’s Mooting competition, with Aymen winning the final held in the Supreme Court and Judged by Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers.

Every year, the new Moot Master and Moot Mistress are elected by the Mooting Society, and the Moot Master Sword is handed over to the new pair at the Moot Final.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a moot?

A moot is a mock trial, which gives students real-world experience in arguing cases before QMUL Law academics, Barristers and members of the Judiciary. Participants are expected to present and defend legal arguments under court room conditions. Hundreds of students in the Mooting Society compete through six competition rounds including the quarter-finals and semi-finals leading to the George Hinde Moot Final, the culmination of the competition.

What trophies are up for grabs?

Each year, there are two trophies given to the winners of the competition. The first is the George Hinde Moot trophy, presented to the overall winner of the Mooting Competition. The second is the Yeats and Lane trophy, offered to the first year student who has come the furthest in the competition.

George HindeWhy is the moot named after Professor George Hinde?

Professor George Hinde (1929 – 2014) was a much-loved Professor at the School of Law. Hailing from New Zealand, Professor Hinde was integral in the foundation of the mooting competition in the 1970’s. The George Hinde Moot is held in every year to remember his enduring influence at our institution.

Return to top